Skip to content

>Some more gifts!

January 10, 2008

>Hi There,

Ok so here are some more pics of some of the gifts I made for Christmas presents…

This is a Note Taker I made for Eliot’s mom Liz. I got the pattern from Kathy at Pink Chalk Studio. Instead fo putting boring lined paper, I ended up getting a sketch pad for the all the sketching she has been doing lately. The pattern was pretty easy to follow. I wish now that I used something a little thicker for the support. All in all I think it came out great! Liz liked it and that’s what made me happy!

For my mom, she requested an apron, So I had to make something vibrant and loud…well that’s just who she is! Love ya mom! I used a pattern from Vanilla House Designs. It’s called the Sunday dinner apron. Mom loved it and wore it while she cooked on Christmas day! I left out the pockets of the pattern and also added some edge stitching to give it a little more flair. I got the fabric at Purl Soho when I was in NY earlier that month. The buttons I got at M&J Trim during that same trip! I think I went a little button happy when I was there, it’s such a fun place!

Now, this was a super fun project! I made the small version of Amy Butler’sFrenchy Bag. It was a gift for my brother’s girlfriend Melody. I was actually up in Meredith, NH checking out the location with mom where El and I are getting married and we took a quick ride to the next town, Center Harbor, to check out this quilting fabric shop everyone has been raving about…all I have to say is…OMG!Keep Sake Quilting is such a great store…there were bolts and bolts of color…I saw the fabric that I used for Mel’s bag and it screamed her name! I could have spent a lot of money that day…A LOT! I was so excited making the bag, that when I finally got it to the point of 90% complete…at 11:30pm…I woke Eliot up with excitement to show…needless to say…his interest for the evening was sleep…it came out great and I’m hoping Mel is putting it to good shopping use!

I have some more pics to post…I’m currently working on a quilt for my Auntie Joan who has recently been diagnosed with Leukemia. She’s an Irish woman, so I’m making an Irish themed quilt, to help her heal during this time.

I also have a couple other things up my sleeve…hoping to finish them before I leave for Spain next Tuesday.

~Nicole

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

