Skip to content

>Finally, something for me!

February 17, 2008

>Hi There!

Well after the crazy holiday of sewing up gifts beyond belief for everyone…I decided that I earned the time to sew something for myself! I have been wanting to make this clutch inAmy Butler’s In Stitches book. I had a hard time deciding what fabric to use…so I stuck with something neutral for this first one…then this spring I can make something brighter!Here is how it came out…



I used one of Amy’s prints for the inside, I felt it needed something bright! I modified the pattern a bit by using a magnetic snap instead of Velcro(much classier in my eyes). I did have to place the snap on the flap about a 1/2 inch higher then the 3/4 of an inch she recommended in the pattern. I also didn’t add the flower on the outside, I felt the fabric was so loud as it was…I might try and find a solid red fabric and maybe add that after…might be cute!

I also am 95% complete with Eliot’s manly grilling apron he has been waiting for for about a year now…I have to just place the Red Sox patch on and he is ready to grill…well he might have to wait until the snow melts to use it!

I am so happy we have Presidents day off…I’m going to keep at the machine and see what else I can do. I bought the walking foot I needed for my machine to quilt…I just haven’t had the patience to sit down with the instructions yet to learn how to use it…might have to give it a whirl tomorrow. I also have a sweater wrap/shawl pattern from a threads magazine I might attempt…we’ll see how I’m feeling, it was nice lounging on the bed and the couch all morning…I leave for Vegas on Tuesday morning at 5am, I’m trying to relax as much as possible…it will be a week of work, work, work…

~N

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

