Skip to content

>Midweek Progress

August 26, 2009

>Hello,

Well after a little rest from the weekend, I’ve been back to work in my studio. I’m working on 3 quilts at the same time (I’m crazy, I know). Here are a few pics of a quilt I am making for my cousin’s friend who is expecting in October. I used a bunch of Amy Butler Midwest Modern prints for the squares and a nice kona solid cotton for the sashing which I will also use for the binding. They are not finding out the sex of the baby, so I needed to stick with greens and yellows, something I have a hard time doing. I have to pick up fabric this weekend for the outside border. The pattern is Yellow Brick Road pattern from Atkinson Designs…as you all know one of my favorite quilts to make!

I also finished the top of Eliot’s quilt and bought some fabric last night for the backing. I’ve been looking at it trying to figure out a fun way to quilt it instead of my usual stitch-in-the-ditch.

I’m going to try and piece together the top of one that I’ve been working on for our living room tonight. Just to refresh your memory this was a shot of it all laid out on my studio floor. I am making matching pillows from all the scraps too!

We’re getting prepared for the the puppy too. Even though he won’t come home with us until October we’ve been reading lots of books and starting a list of all the things we need to buy before he comes home with us. I’ve been researching pet supplies likes it’s been my second job! I’ve also been pondering making a doggie bed for him. We went to the pet store a few weeks ago and they had these super cute ones and Eliot pointed out, “you can totally make these!” So I might have to give it a whirl.

I’m still nervous about Roxy’s (my cat) reaction and how she’ll be when we bring him home. I’m trying to stay positive that they will be buds…but I think I’m living in a dream world…she is such a princess…

Ok all, Happy Wednesday…we’re half way to the weekend!

xo
Nicole

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

