Skip to content

>Happy New Year!

January 3, 2010

>Hi All!!

I can’t begin to tell you how happy I am that the holidays are now officially behind us. As much as I love them, this year just tuckered me out. Since I have been slacking on my posts I am writing a nice long one to reflect upon the past 2 weeks to keep you all up to speed (I apologize in advance for the book of a post)…and then understand why I’ve been in my sweats laying on the couch cracked out on TV (something I rarely do) for the majority of the weekend.

Ok so here it goes…

The weekend before my 3-0th birthday, my darling husband threw a party for me at our house and took care of all the cooking (everyone was impressed that I let him take over the kitchen, it’s funny I really don’t have a problem sharing it…) Our dearest friends, Kate, Dave and the girls made it up on Friday night and stayed the weekend to help celebrate my big day. Saturday was a girls day with Kate and Addison up at the outlets in Maine…it was so much fun to hear Addison say “shopping” all day…she held up pretty well and fell asleep in her stroller in the last store. She is a shopper in training, and is doing quite well.

The boys stayed home with Avery and cooked and cleaned…I must thank my wonderful husband for a wonderful party and Dave for helping him out with it all…I wish I was turning 30 every weekend…hehe…I was so busy with family and friends that night I didn’t’ get to see Addy and Tyler play too much…but here are a couple cute shots I got of the toddler romance…


I had such a great time at the party, thank you again to all my family and friends who were there, it meant a lot to me. That Sunday we got hit with a snow storm so Kate & Dave ended up staying longer that day and waiting it out until the snow stopped. Eliot also got asked a very important question that weekend…if he would be Avery’s godfather…he is very excited and is planning on having her call him, “The Godfather”…gotta love it!

On my actual birthday, I worked in the am and my coworkers helped make it a special day. I left work early to get my new car registered…oh yeah…did I mention my hubby helped to get me a new car for birthday? Well…he did, and I love him and I love my new car. Here’s a shot right from the dealership and on my way to shop šŸ™‚


That night we popped open a bottle of bubbly and Eliot made me a delicious dinner…stuffed cod with a crab and shrimp seafood stuffing, topped with a rosemary lemon cream sauce…it makes me hungry just writing this…yum…it was a nice day and great night…I got to spend it with my 2 boys…I am a very lucky girl!

Christmas Eve was here and my mother-in-law came to stay with us for Christmas, we baked cookies and got to decorate them together. It was a great day. Here are a couple pics of what our Christmas tree looked like as well as our fireplace (with all my birthday cards on it). I made another banner that says, “Sretan Bozic”, which means, Merry Christmas in Croatian. I made one like this for thanksgiving, you can get a pattern from Cynthia’s Etsy shop over at Meringue Designs.


Christmas day my family arrived and we cooked a yummy meal…we had a puzzle going all day and Christmas movies. I still can’t believe that my mom had never seen Elf! You also know when you are an adult when you have waiting until around 6pm to open presents! I think one of the funniest things over the weekend was witnessing my husband crawl into Cody’s crate with him…we could not believe he could fit in there with Cody!

We had a great rest of the weekend, my little brother and his fiance stayed with us and parents came and went to hang out. We got some more snow and were trapped indoors all weekend, so lots of Wii was played and several puzzles were put together.

Here are some of the gifts I made for people. Pics and more info can be found on my flickr page, here. My poor mom’s quilt is not finished (I don’t know what I was thinking, thinking I could finish a quilt I’ve never made in such a short period of time!) so she had to open the unfinished front to her quilt…I am working on it mom and hope to have it complete very soon! xo I still feel terrible!


And this New Years weekend we went to a small party with our friends Andy & Jeanine. It was a nice night and we came home in time to be with our little Cody and bring in the new year. We’ve gotten lots more snow this weekend, which has helped me to stay in sweats, do the little things I’ve been wanting to do and relax. I did finally take out my Kitchen Aid mixer that we got as a shower gift from my girlfriends I used to work with. I can’t believe I’ve been letting it sit in a box for that long. Eliot played Bob Vila yesterday and took down a cabinet above the fridge to move the microwave so that I had more counter space for my new favorite appliance. I made one of the Barefoot Contessa’s recipes this weekend out of her family dinners book, but you can find it here. I have been craving my mother-in-law’s Chicken and Biscuits, but I want to have her show me the recipe hands on one day, so I decided to try Ina’s…and Oh my goodness, let me tell you…Eliot and I needed to be rolled into the living room after because we totally stuffed ourselves! I did make a few modifications, but mostly followed it. I roasted a whole chicken too instead because I had one in the freezer. It was delicious and the best part was I got to make the biscuits in my Kitchen Aid mixer!

Well there it all is…phew…I need to blog more because this catching up business is exhausting! I hope that you all had a wonderful New Year’s weekend, wishing you all the best for 2010!

xo
N

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

