Skip to content

New Year. New Blog.

January 2, 2011

Hi!

So as some of you may already know my DH(Darling Husband) accidentally deleted my blog awhile ago this month and we have been waiting for a response from Google. Its been taking way too long, so I’ve decided to move my blog from Blogger to WordPress. I’ve heard lots of great things about it so I figured I’d give it a try. I’ll let you know how it’s going. Good thing we got Cody a new dog bed because that is where my DH has been sleeping since he deleted it. (jk)

My blog name won’t change much other then the wordpress part, but some of the things I write about will be a little different then before. I will still continue to write about all my crazy sewing/craft projects but along with it there will be mommy talk about C, diapers, breastfeeding, being a new mommy and I’m sure there will be talk about poop here and there. (Once you become a mom it’s one of the most talked about topics, it’s inevitable.)

I am trying to wrap my head around the fact that C is 14 weeks old. Time has certainly flown by much faster then I ever thought it possible could. Being a mom has changed my life forever in the best way possible. She has become my world…my everything. Here is a pic of her at 3 months…

I started back to work 2 weeks ago and C has been going to daycare. It hasn’t been easy…more so for me. I don’t think it matters if you find the nicest and most qualified people to watch your child, there is something about leaving your child with strangers that is just unsettling. It kills me to know she is growing and doing new things there that I am missing out on witnessing. I know that it’s good for her and it will help her be more independent, but in my eyes she is still so little and I just want to be there and watch her grow before my own eyes while she still is a peanut. So needless to say these past two weeks have been an emotional roller coaster for me. Crying after dropping her off, crying when I pick her up…yeah…it’s been that bad.

She is still exclusively breastfed. I have been pumping at work, which is not the easiest or most comfortable thing, but I know that it’s the best thing I can do for her. I’d rather have her latched on me then a silly machine but I am willing to do what it takes…it’s all part of being a mom now…you would jump through rings of fire for your little one if you had to. Ask any mom…I bet they would agree.

During my maternity leave I went every week to a breastfeeding support group that my hospital offered. It was one of the best things that I could have done to help me with my fear of breastfeeding. I met so many awesome new mommies and have become friends with a few, two of them also blog…you can find Stephanie, here and Jen, here. I am planning on hosting a play group in January so we can all get together again soon and maybe alternate houses every month or so! Being at group was the thing I looked forward to the most during the week. I had lots of my questions answered and by the time I was at my last meeting I was answering questions for other new mommies. It felt great and it still does. I’ve become a little Breastfeeding advocate! I had also joined twitter just before C was born and have met many other breastfeeding moms that have been there for my questions as well…it’s been great. So if you follow me on twitter, note: there might be lots of boobie talk going back and forth. Brace yourself!

I can’t believe a new year is upon us and Christmas is already behind us. There were so many presents under the tree for C from Santa. Daddy thought it was a little out of control. Boy, he has no clue that this year was nothing. I can only imagine her at 16 years old asking for a pair of $200 jeans or whatever the next ipod type contraption will be. (She is my daughter people. We like nice things. She is in training.)

We had one of the best Christmas’ ever. The fireplace was on and the TV was off on Christmas Eve and my dad spent the day with us making his famous stuffed cabbage. It’s our little Croatian tradition on Christmas. We went to an early Christmas Eve mass where the children put on the pageant. It was very cute and C was getting oogled over by everyone. I know I am her mother, but it’s kinda hard not to oogle over her…she is just so perfect in every little way.

On Christmas day my mom and my 2 aunts and cousin came over along with Graham, Tara, Tyler and Brooke! It was so cute to see Brooke and Charlotte talking to one another (they are 3 months apart). Tara and I had fun thinking about when they get older and the many sleepovers they will have together. It makes me so happy to know she will get to grow up living close to her cousins and family.

The fireplace was going again on Christmas day and Eliot made filet tenderloin wrapped in bacon and cooked it to perfection. I was eating steak sandwiches several days after slathered with horseradish sauce. YUM. It was a great day and just so nice to be with our families on Christmas day. Nothing is better then quality time with the people whom you care about the most and who care about you.

Since I had a nice 5 day vacation over Christmas, I was playing a lot with C. We have been doing lots of tummy time…here is my new favorite picture of her…She is getting so big and changing so much…I wish she could stay little forever and ever…

I also finally ordered something for her nursery to put up around her crib. During vacation we got the chance to put it up. I went back and forth about what I wanted, so I decided on some vinyl wall decals of birch trees that reach the ceiling. I bought them on etsy from this seller. It also came with pink birds, but I am waiting to put them up because I want to make her a name banner from a pattern I got from Cynthia and make it look like the birds are holding the banner up. Since her name is so long I am going to have to modify the pattern and make it a little smaller. I’ll take pictures when I am done, but this is what it looks like with the trees! (we love our birch trees here…they have a strong significance in our household and to our state of NH!)

I wish you all the best for 2011. I have a feeling it’s going to be a good year! Lots more blogging that will get done in 2011…I promise! For those of you who dont’ follow me on twitter, you can now, just click on the “t” icon on the top right of this page. Also, my flickr pictures link up to the pink “f” icon. There are lots more pictures of C there!

xo | n

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 9:54 pm

    So happy for an update from you! Glad you’re back to blogging and that life is good šŸ™‚

  2. Katelyn Thurlow permalink
    January 3, 2011 4:40 pm

    I love reading your blog Nicole – Charlotte is so adorable!

  3. Robin Cornwell permalink
    January 4, 2011 9:10 am

    Hello Nicole! Great to hear about you wonderful little girl. I hope 2011 will be good to us all….. Tyler in his last year of college ( yeah – little Tyler is 21! ), Mellie back home for awhile and starting a new chapter in her life and me in a new relationship with the most loving man! Yeah to the new year!!!!

  4. January 4, 2011 6:21 pm

    Happy New Year, Nikki! Love the new blog and new post. And all the pictures of Charlotte on Flickr … you can definitely see how much she’s grown! I was just telling Eliot on Team NE’s blog that I’m really looking forward to spending Holiday 2011 in NH with everyone!

Leave a Reply

